Café Blue 1STEP

Patricia Barber

Patricia Cafe Blue 1Step


MSRP: $124.99 USD

1STEP Process 180g 45rpm Double LP Pressed on VR900-Supreme Vinyl! Cut From Original Analog Work Masters by Kevin Gray at CoHearent Audio! Strictly Limited To 5000 Numbered Pressings! 

Patricia Barber has always been an artist’s artist, harnessing a restless imagination and an intellectualized curiosity to create visionary jazz that breaks boundaries and reorders perceptions. She serves the chase: the unexpected musical note. The irreplaceable word. The irregular beating heart of jazz.

And Café Blue is the album that best personifies her genius. Spare, turbulent, quirky, and slyly humorous, there is no other jazz masterwork quite like it.

For the first collaboration with this musical vanguard, Impex’s 1STEP is exclusively cut from original analog work masters and cut by Kevin Gray at CoHearent Audio. The stunning fidelitybreathtaking dynamics, and startling spatial realism surpass every other edition of this breakthrough album.

The 1STEP Process:
The Impex 1STEP process relies on short, tightly controlled runs that require a new lacquer after each run of 500 pressings. This unforgiving format has the lacquer skipping the regular father-mother process, going right to a single convert and then pressing. Though this dramatically increases mastering and production costs, it also assures each run is more consistent from disc to disc, with less noise, clearer details, and deeper bass.

Reducing production complexity to just a single “convert” disc between the lacquer and the press greatly improves groove integrity, diminishes non-fill anomalies, and increases signal integrity from the master tape to your system.

Two 180-gram 45-rpm LPs (pressed on VR900-SUPREME VINYL) and a deluxe booklet are packaged in a heavy-duty 3-sleeve jacket. The jacket is then placed in a cloth-bound slipcase that protects your investment and brings a cool retro-modern look to your shelves.


  • Strictly limited to 5000 numbered pressings
  • 1STEP Process
  • 45rpm 180 Gram Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Pressed on VR900-Supreme Vinyl
  • Exclusively cut from the original analog workmasters
  • Cut by Kevin Gray at CoHearent Audio
  • Deluxe booklet
  • Packaged in a heavy-duty 3-sleeve jacket
  • Cool retro-modern cloth-bound slipcase


Patricia Barberpiano, vocals
John McLeanguitars
Michael Arnopolbass
Mark Walkerdrums, percussion, body parts


  1. What A Shame
  2. Mourning Grace
  3. A Taste Of Honey


  1. Ode To Billie Joe
  2. Too Rich For My Blood
  3. Mahna De Carnaval


  1. Inch Worm
  2. Wood Is A Pleasant Thing To Think About
  3. Nardis


  1. The Thrill Is Gone
  2. Romanesque
  3. Yellow Car III