Live at The Bon Soir

Barbra Streisand

HQ-180 33-rpm 2-LP Set | Stereo

MSRP: $59.99 USD



Barbra – the way she was!

Her earliest live recordings: 24 magical songs that defined her artistry

On October first 1962 a twenty year old Barbra Streisand signed a deal with Columbia Records. Barely a month later her live performance from the Greenwich Village night club, the Bon Soir, was recorded with the idea of having it be her debut release.  The label ultimately decided to have her go into the studio to record songs from this performance and that became The Barbra Streisand Album. That debut record ended up earning Barbra Streisand three Grammy’s including Album of the Year.

The legendary recording from the Bon Soir has been widely bootlegged over the years and is now finally officially being released on November 4th, sixty years after it was recorded. Mixed from the original tapes from Barbra’s vault this “new” release features the songs “Cry Me A River,” “Happy Days Are Here Again,” “Bewitched Bothered And Bewildered,”&  “A Taste of Honey” just to name a few.

Impex Records is honored to have been selected to produce the 180-gram LP and SACD of this long-awaited classic from the world’s pre-eminent vocal artist and have given these our usual “Impex Treatment” with meticulous attention paid to every aspect of audio and package presentation: SACD is contained in a lavish hardcover book package with a 32-page booklet, while the 2-LP HQ-180 vinyl set gets a tip-on gatefold and 12-page booklet.

“The initial plan for my first album was to record it at the club, and these early tapes have been sleeping in my vault for six decades. I’m delighted to finally bring them out into the light and share what could have been my debut album, Live At The Bon Soir.” —Barbra Streisand


  • Barbra’s legendary 1962 debut recording is officially available for the very first time!
  • Every aspect of the production personally supervised by Barbra Streisand
  • Restored and mixed from the original analog session tapes by Jochem van der Saag and mastered by Paul Blakemore at 24 bit/96 kHz
  • Our HQ-180 2-LP set gets the “Impex Treatment”: tip-on gatefold jacket and a deluxe 12-page booklet featuring Barbra’s recollections, the recording’s history & production, and performance photos



  1. Introduction by David Kapralik (Columbia Records)/My Name Is Barbara

  2. Much More

  3. Napoleon

  4. I Hate Music

  5. Right As The Rain

  6. Cry Me A River


  1. Value

  2. Lover, Come Back To Me

  3. Band Introductions

  4. Soon It’s Gonna Rain

  5. Come To The Supermarket (In Old Peking)

  6. When The Sun Comes Out

  7. Happy Days Are Here Again


  1. Keepin’ Out Of Mischief Now

  2. A Sleepin’ Bee

  3. I Had Myself A True Love

  4. Bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered

  5. Who’s Afraid Of The Big Bad Wolf?


  1. I’ll Tell the Man In The Street

  2. A Taste Of Honey

  3. Never Will I Marry

  4. Nobody’s Heart Belongs To Me

  5. My Honey’s Lovin’ Arms

  6. I Stayed Too Long At The Fair

Produced by Barbra Streisand, Martin Erlichman & Jay Landers

Recorded by Roy Halee & Adjutor “Pappy” Theroux

Mixed by Jochem van der Saag

Mastered by Paul Blakemore & Jochem van der Saag

Lacquer cutting by BERNIE GRUNDMAN at Bernie Grundman Mastering

Robert S. Youman calls our new HQ-180 LP “another superb effort,” “first class as always,” and “a must-have for all the Barbra Streisand fans out there, but also for those interested in their first introduction to her legacy and her extraordinary entertainment skills.” Check out Robert’s review HERE.

“Typical of Impex Records’ very high production standards, my pressings were flawless: flat and silent.” Check out Karl’s review HERE.

Barbra Streisand Fan Paul Seydor of Tracking Angle (and The Absolute Sound [among many other publications] AND an Academy Award-nominated filmmaker to boot!) can’t hide his enthusiasm for her breathtaking new album Live at the Bon Soir in this review of our pristine new HQ-180 2-LP deluxe release. Check out Paul’s review HERE.

Read Tom Mott’s glowing review of Live at the Bon Soir at Positive Feedback’s website HERE.