Songs My Mother Taught Me

Arturo Delmoni


MSRP: $34.99 USD

An early TAS List recommendation, Arturo Delmoni’s unparalleled artistry is captured on this near-mythical analog recording by David Hancock. Impex presents this rare masterpiece (which has had no official release in two decades) on pristine 24K Gold Compact Disc to dazzle a new generation of music lovers and audiophiles alike. Limited to 2,500 individually-numbered copies, Songs My Mother Taught Me will continue in its elite rarity.

Songs My Mother Taught Me was recorded by David Hancock at the Church of the Holy Trinity, New York City, on May 8-9, 1982. The sessions were jointly produced by Arturo Delmoni, David Hancock, and John Marks. Arturo Delmoni plays a violin by Antonio Stradivari, 1721.

Mr. Hancock recorded the album on a Studer A-80 1/2″ two-track (30 i.p.s.) analog tape recorder with two Cambridge C35 ribbon microphones. No equalization or noise reduction was employed.

This 24k Gold CD was made from a digital transfer from the original analog master tapes by Robert C. Ludwig of Gateway Mastering in 1994 for John Marks Records.

“Some of these pieces can be found on recordings by Perlman, Zukerman, Gingold, and others, but no one plays them any more beautifully or convincingly. It is the wort of infectiously attractive disc that brings knowing listeners in from the next room to ask, ‘Who is that wonderful violinist?’ He’s Arturo Delmoni, and you should hear him!” – Alan Heatherington, American Record Guide

“There are also three violin encore discs worth considering. Kyung-Wha Chung exhibits her usual skill but very little charm in a disc that pretty much sticks to the usual encore repertory. Itzhak Perlman’s all-Kreisler disc is more convincingly played and includes some of his less-often-heard transcriptions. But the prize goes to Arturo Delmoni, whose warmly-played selections include, besides a well-chosen set of Kreisler arrangements, Smetana’s ‘From the Home Country,’ which, although lasting a bit under five minutes, is a minor masterpiece.” -Paul Turok, Ovation

Numbered, Limited Edition – 2,500 Copies


  • Numbered, Limited Edition – 2,500 Copies
  • Taken from the 1994 Digital Transfer from the Original Analog Master Tapes by Robert C. Ludwig of Gateway Mastering
  • 24K Gold CD
  • UHQCD Packaging
  • 16-Page Booklet
  • Disc Made in Japan


  • Arturo Delmoni – violin
  • Meg Bachman Vas – piano


  1. Fritz Kreisler – Tempo di Menuetto (in the style of Pugnani)
  2. Johannes Brahms – Hungarian Dance No. 1

  3. Charles Robert Valdez – Gypsy Serenade

  4. Maria Theresia von Paradis – Sicilenne

  5. Pablo de Sarasate – Romanza Andaluza

  6. Jules Massenet – Meditation (from Thais)

  7. Giuseppe Tartini – Variations on a Theme of Corelli

  8. Bedrich Smetana – From the Home Country

  9. Christoph Gluck – Melodie (from Orfeo, arr. Kreisler)

  10. Henri Vieuxtemps – Romance “Desespoir”

  11. Gabriel Faure – Apres un reve

  12. Alfredo D’Ambrosio – Canzonetta

  13. Felix Mendelssohn – Song Without Words “A May Breeze” (arr. Kreisler)

  14. Fritz Kreisler – Sicilienne et Rigaudon (in the style of Francoeur)

  15. Antonin Dvorak – Songs My Mother Taught Me (arr. Kreisler)