Ellington Indigos 45-rpm Indigo Purple Edition

Duke Ellington and His Orchestra

Ellington Indigos (Indigo Purple Edition)
180-GRAM 45RPM 2LP | Stereo/Mono

MSRP: $62.99 USD

Order Now

Duke Ellington’s gorgeous 1958 release, already an audiophile stand out on Impex 33-rpm vinyl and 24k Gold CD, gets all the stops pulled out on our 65th Anniversary 45-rpm LPs! Exclusive new packaging and all-analog mastering provides experiential and immersive musical engagement that has The Absolute Sound’s Wayne Garcia calling it “A musical masterpiece, sonic knockout. What a record!” 5/5 music – 5/5 sonics

We’re also debuting a super-quiet, super-limited-edition solid Indigo purple vinyl edition! Made in collaboration with our friends at the Los Angeles Orange County Audio Society in honor of their 30th Anniversary, we carefully selected vinyl chips, with help from the vinyl gurus at RTI, to craft one of the quietest color LPs ever made without dramatically changing the tonal excellence of the original recording!

Strictly limited to 3,000 black and 1,000 purple HQ-180 pressings, Ellington Indigos on 45rpm HQ-180 will once again redefine definitive for this timeless jazz orchestra standard!


  • Numbered, limited-edition black and purple vinyl
  • Mastered with a 1:1 flat transfer of the original the analog master tapes by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering
  • Two 45-rpm LPs pressed at RTI
  • Four all-analog mono bonus tracks on vinyl for the first time*
  • The Full Impex Treatment packaging featuring a 16-page heavy-stock booklet with rare photos and new historical notes by producer/author/historian Charles L. Granata
  • Black vinyl strictly limited to only 3,000 pressings
  • Purple vinyl more strictly limited to only 1,000 pressings


  1. Solitude
  2. Where or When
  3. Mood Indigo


  1. Autumn Leaves
  2. Prelude To a Kiss
  3. Willow Weep for Me


  1. Tenderly
  2. Dancing In the Dark
  3. Night and Day*
  1. All the Things You Are*
  2. The Sky Fell Down*
  3. Love (My Heart, My Mind, My Everything*

*AAA mono bonus tracks

“It’s a rainy early evening in January, and I’m sipping a martini and spinning an Impex 45rpm test pressing of Ellington Indigos LP. Before you read any further, drop this review and order a copy before it’s too late–it’s one of the best things I’ve heard in a while. A musical gem, a sonic knockout. Originally released in 1958, Ellington Indigos is a gorgeously moody collection of tunes. Ellington’s unaccompanied piano intro to ‘Solitude’ shows an exceptionally natural sound, with great studio ambience. When the band rolls in there’s a thrilling dynamic kick and musical pizzazz to die for–rich, throaty brass, silky strings. On ‘Where or When’ you’ll hear the alto soloist breathing as he plays; on ‘Mood Indigo’ the full orchestra really fills the room, extending wall to wall, front to back, and also in height, with an uncanny illusion of the players on a tiered bandstand, quite life-sized too. The there’s the nimble, walking bass lines, the dreamy sounding clarinet, floating in space, just so ‘there.’ Impex has a fine 33 version of this title, but this one marking the title’s 65th anniversary smokes it. The release includes a 16-page booklet with new liner notes and never seen photos. What a record!” -Wayne Garcia, The Absolute Sound